About Us

Galway Christian Fellowship was formed in 1980 when Graeme & Frances Wylie moved to Galway with the commission from God to plant a new church.   They started meeting in their home with 1 other person. After 5 years the church had grown until there were about 30 people involved.

They then leased premises in Galway city centre for 4 years until the church outgrew them. It was eventually decided to save up and buy a site on the edge of town and build new facilities. The church opened the New Life Centre in 1992.

Graeme Wylie left as Pastor in 2000 and Fergal MacHale assumed the pastoral role and remained there until March 2006.

Since 1985 the church has had an increasing relationship with Simon Matthews, Simon Matthews being the founder and apostolic leader of Plumbline Ministries International. Simon’s ministry has formed a group of like minded churches in Britain and Ireland. During 1994-95 the church began to formalise an apostolic relationship with Simon. Graeme Wylie as part of the Plumbline network has continued to help and support the church. GCF is part of the Plumbline family of churches and continues to seek guidance and support from Simon and Graeme.

In March 2006 an elder Stephen Kenny began pastoring a new congregation in Knocknacarra, a western suburb of Galway city. This has become known as Galway Christian Fellowship – West.

The church has developed a new team of elders which co-ordinates and oversees the work of both congregations, Galway Christian Fellowship & Galway Christian Fellowship – West. The current eldership team consists of Peter Burrows, Ray Clarke, Joe FitzGibbon, Sean Doheny with Stephen Kenny from the west congregation.

Also in 2006 the church began developing a new leadership structure under the leadership of an elder Ray Clarke. This new structure took the form of a team of leaders each with areas of church responsibility.

In August 2008 we welcomed and appointed Peter Burrows to Pastoral Eldership in GCF. 

The current leadership team in the East consists of Peter Burrows, Ray Clarke, Joe FitzGibbon, Sean Doheny, John Cleary, Sandy Burrows, Brian Watson, Hazel Watson and Eileen Carver.

The current leadership team in the West consists of Stephen Kenny, Jonathan Goold, Bridie Byrne, Karen Kenny, Tom McDonagh, Chris McDonagh and Majorie Haire.

Learn More